NAWIC NSW 2014 winners announced

The NSW Chapter of The National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) held its 2014 Awards for Excellence in Sydney last week, recognising the achievements of women in construction.

Raquel Rubalcaba, senior project manager at Laing O’Rourke, was awarded the Laing O'Rourke Crystal Vision Award in recognition of her paid parental leave initiative.

Rubalcaba instigated a 26-week paid parental leave and flexible working policy at Laing O’Rourke, which combines paid parental leave with a keep-in-touch program, return-to-work coaching and flexible work options for all employees.

Sarah Hogan, NAWIC NSW Chapter president, said Rubalcaba has encouraged meaningful change that will support the careers of women in the construction sector.

“The judges were impressed by [Rubalcaba’s] passion and drive to contribute to the industry in which she has been involved for 24 years. We salute [her] as a role model for other women in the industry,” she said.

Hogan said the NAWIC Awards for Excellence program is a celebration of leadership that encourages women to take risks in their careers and to network.

“The awards also highlight the qualities that women in our industry need to succeed – qualities such as teamwork and tenacity, collaboration and creativity – and underscore the contribution that women make to an industry that is vital to Australia’s future,” she said.

Other category and merit winners include:

Master Builders Association & Clinton Recruitment Award for Team Innovation

Winner: Davenport Campbell for the QBE Global Head Office Project

Merit: Westpac Tenancy Fit-out Team, comprising Lend Lease and Geyer, for the Westpac Global Head Office

Lend Lease Scholarship for Future Leaders

Winner: Hannah Mahoney-Hayes, structural engineer, Taylor Thomson Whitting

DTZ University Scholarship

Winner: Alissa Thivakon, The University of Newcastle

Brookfield Johnson Controls Tradesperson Scholarship

Winner: Kristina Murray, Home Control & Audio

MPA Award for Achievement in Construction, Refurbishment and Fit-out

Winner: Jade Nicholson, site engineer, Brookfield Multiplex, for the Charles Perkins Centre Project at The University of Sydney, Camperdown Campus

Brookfield Multiplex Award for Contribution to a Project Development

Winner: Miranda Kossen-Markezic, senior project engineer, Thiess, for the Frederickton-to-Eungai Pacific Highway Upgrade Project

Merit: Lucy Guerin, Jones Lang LaSalle, for her contribution to the Westpac Group Retail Program

John Holland Business Woman of the Year Award

Winner: Rachel Luchetti, director, Luchetti Krelle

Acoustic Logic Award for Contribution to Sustainability

Winner: Esther Bailey, Better Buildings Partnership manager, City of Sydney

Now Careers Project Management Award

Winner: Dominique Gill, project manager, Built

Stockland Award for Innovation in Design

Winner: Alex Wessling, project manager, MBMO Architects, for the Sydney Adventist Hospital Stage 1 Redevelopment Project

comments powered by Disqus